Project

Our Project

Overview

project description

During 8 months 12 ETH mechanical and electrical engineering students, will develop a 4-seater electrical airplane with modular batterry system, based on a Sling TSi. The ETH focus project will start in Sept. 2020 and end in May 2021.

Goals

1.

Development of an efficient electric drive train

2.

Neuentwicklung eines modularen Batterie-Systems

3.

Certifiability of the Aircraft

Project areas

Education

Promoting highly motivated young ETH engineers and creation of public enthusiasm for an electrified general aviation.

Environment

For the first time in human history we can have sustainable operative air transport and reduce CO2-emissins by 100%, as well as reducing noise emission by 75%.

Technology

With the ETH focus project we build an electric aircraft with one of the largest battery ranges. ETH aims to achieve trend setting technical fundamental research for electric drive trains in the aviation industry.

Economics

With the current improvment of battery technology the electric aviation offers medium and long term intresting economic perspectives. The nessecary knowledge will be deepend together with indusrty partners and therfore enforces the swiss industry.

Project areas

November 2018 - June 2019

Foundational research on e-aviation

For 5 months the two ETH mechanical engineering students Nicolai Solenthaler (1) and Alexander Weiser (2) researched the electric aviation cooperation with «Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V.» (DLR) and further partners. Within their bachelor’s thesis they designed a 6-seater electric aircraft concept with innovative drive train and a range of up to 500 km
November 2018 - June 2019
July 2019 - September 2019

Analysis of viable aircrafts

For the development of a real plane multiple aircrafts were analysed. Since the beginning the 4-seater Sling TSi by «Sling Aircraft» from South Africa was among the favourites. The first Skype-Call with Sling Aircraft confirmed mutual interest and ended in a «Letter of Intent», the base for a feasibility study.

July 2019 - September 2019
October 2019 - December 2019

Machbarkeitsstudio E-Sling

Based on the Sling TSi an optimised electrified version «e-Sling» was designed. It was apparent that for maximal range the wingspan of 9.5 m had to be increased by roughly 1 m. Further adaptions of the Sling TSi for the electric motor and for the wings to place the modular and cooled batteries are necessary.

October 2019 - December 2019
January 2020 -May 2020

Groundwork e-Sling focus project

In February 2020 Alexander Weiser, meanwhile ETH Master student, travelled to South Africa for 3 months to do the groundwork. During his time at Sling Aircraft he will develop the modified aircraft structure. In parallel further project partners are searched for and the project’s organizational structures are developed.
January 2020 -May 2020
June 2020 -September 2020

Manufacturing aircraft structure

The modified aircraft structure will be manufactured by Sling Aircraft and shipped to ETH in Switzerland. The search for sponsors and project partners will be continued. Further the organizational structures are finalized.
June 2020 -September 2020
October 2020 - May 2021

Focus project

For 8 Months, 12 ETH mechanical and electrical engineers will realize the ETH e-Sling focus project in collaboration with project partners, sponsors and further supporters.
October 2020 - May 2021
October 2020 - July 2021

Groundwork e-Sling focus project

In February 2020 Alexander Weiser, meanwhile ETH Master student, travelled to South Africa for 3 months to do the groundwork. During his time at Sling Aircraft he will develop the modified aircraft structure. In parallel further project partners are searched for and the project’s organizational structures are developed.
October 2020 - July 2021
August 2021 - August 2021

Demonstration flights and sponsor events

After a successful project the e-Sling will be used for demonstration flights, sponsor events and non-commercial passenger flights.
August 2021 - August 2021

Are you interested to be our sponsor?

Learn more about our opportunities to support us

Projekt

Das Projekt

Overview

Projektbeschreibung

Während 8 Monaten entwickeln 12 ETH Maschinenbau- und Elektroingenieur-Studenten, im Rahmen eines ETH Fokusprojektes, ein 4-plätziges Elektroflugzeug mit modularem Batterie-System, basierend auf der Sling TSi. Das Fokusprojekt startet im Sept. 2020 und endet im Mai 2021.

Ziele

1.

Neuentwicklung eines effizienten Elektroantriebs

2.

Neuentwicklung eines modularen Batterie-Systems

3.

Demonstration der gesamttechnischen Lufttüchtigkeit

Projektbereiche

Bildung

Förderung von hochmotivierten jungen ETH Ingenieuren und Schaffung einer allgemeinen Begeisterung für eine elektrifizierte General Aviation.

Umwelt

Das erste Mal in der Menschheitsgeschichte können wir den operativen Lufttransport nachhaltig gestalten und den CO2-Ausstoss um 100% sowie die Lärmbelastung um 75% reduzieren.

Technik

Mit dem ETH-Fokusprojekt bauen wir ein Elektroflugzeug mit einer der grössten Batterie-Reichweiten. Damit bezweckt die ETH richtungsweisende technische Grundlageforschung für den Elektroantrieb in der Luftfahrtindustrie.

Wirtschaftlichkeit

Mit der Weiterentwicklung der Batterietechnik bietet die Elektrofliegerei mittel- bis langfristig interessante Wirtschaftsperspektiven. Das dafür benötigte Wissen vertiefen wir mit einer Allianz von Industriepartnern und stärken damit den Wirtschaftsstandort Schweiz

Projektbereiche

November 2018 – Juni 2019

Grundlageforschung e-Aviatik

Während 5 Monaten haben die zwei ETH Maschinenbau Studenten Nicolai Solenthaler (3. v.r.) und Alexander Weiser (2. v.r.) im Austausch mit dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR) und weiteren Partnern die Elektrofliegerei wissenschaftlich erforscht. Im Rahmen ihrer Bachelorarbeiten entwickelten sie ein Elektroflugzeug-Konzept mit 6-Plätzen, einem neuartigen Elektroantrieb und einer Reichweite von bis zu 600 km.
November 2018 – Juni 2019
Juli 2019 – September 2019

Analyse geeigneter Flugzeugtypen

Für den Aufbau eines realen Flugzeuges sind mehrere Flugzeugtypen analysiert worden. Bereits in der Anfangsphase zählte der 4-plätzige Sling TSI von Sling Aircraft mit Sitz in Südafrika zu den Favoriten. Der erste Skype-Call bekräftigte das gegenseitige Interesse und führte zu einem «Letter of Intent». Eine Grundlage zu einer vertieften Machbarkeitsstudie.

Juli 2019 – September 2019
Oktober 2019 – Dezember 2019

Machbarkeitsstudio E-Sling

Basierend auf einer Sling TSI kam es zur Ausarbeitung einer optimierten elektrifizierten Flugzeugversion namens «e-Sling». Schnell wurde erkannt, dass für eine maximale Reichweite die Spannweite der Sling TSI von 9.5 Meter auf 10.5 Meter verlängert werden muss. Weitere Anpassungen für den Elektromotor, sowie an den Flügeln zur Platzierung der modularen und gekühlten Batterien müssen vorgenommen werden.

Oktober 2019 – Dezember 2019
Januar 2020 – Mai 2020

Vorarbeit e-Sling Fokusprojekt

Im Rahmen der Vorbereitungsarbeiten reiste der heutige ETH Masterstudent Alexander Weiser im Februar 2020 für 3 Monate nach Südafrika und entwickelt vor Ort bei der Sling Aircraft die modifizierte Flugzeugstruktur. Parallel werden Projektpartner gesucht und sämtliche organisatorischen Strukturen für das Projekt aufgebaut.
Januar 2020 – Mai 2020
Juni 2020 – September 2020

Herstellung Flugzeugstruktur

Die überarbeitete Flugzeugstruktur wird von Sling Aircraft hergestellt und via Schiffstransport in die Schweiz zur ETH geliefert. Parallel akquiriert das e-Sling Team weiterhin Projektpartner und Sponsoren, sowie tätigt die weiteren organisatorischen Projektvorbereitungen.
Juni 2020 – September 2020
Oktober 2020 – Mai 2021

Umsetzung Fokusprojekt

Während 8 Monaten werden 8 bis 16 ETH Maschinenbau- und Elektroingenieur-Studenten das ETH e-Sling Fokusprojekt umsetzen. Dies in Zusammenarbeit mit Projektpartnern, Sponsoren und weiteren Unterstützern.organisatorischen Projektvorbereitungen.
Oktober 2020 – Mai 2021
Oktober 2020 – Juli 2021

Vorarbeit e-Sling Fokusprojekt

Im Rahmen der Vorbereitungsarbeiten reiste der heutige ETH Masterstudent Alexander Weiser im Februar 2020 für 3 Monate nach Südafrika und entwickelt vor Ort bei der Sling Aircraft die modifizierte Flugzeugstruktur. Parallel werden Projektpartner gesucht und sämtliche organisatorischen Strukturen für das Projekt aufgebaut.
Oktober 2020 – Juli 2021
August 2021 – August 2022

Demonstrations- und Forschungsflüge

Nach erfolgreichem Projektabschluss wird das e-Sling Flugzeug für Forschungszwecke und nicht-kommerzielle Demonstrationsflüge eingesetzt.
August 2021 – August 2022

Möchten Sie unser Sponsor werden?

Erfahren Sie mehr über die Möglichkeiten uns zu Unterstützen