Project Alpha

Project Alpha
OUR PROJECT

Developemnent of a four seated electrical airplane

During 8 month 12 ETH students developed a 4-seated airplane with modular battery system as a so called fokus project. The first fokus project started in september 2020 and was called project alpha. Since summer 2021 the new project H2 is ongoing.

Maximum power

110kW

Battery capacity

50kWh

Range

200km

Cruising speed

160km/h

Energy density

180 Wh/kg

Our Goals

Developement of an efficient powertrain

Developement of a modular battery system

Demonstration of airworthiness

Battery

Capacity
Weight: 240 kg
Number of cells: 2394

Motor

Power (max): 110kW
Power (continous): 75kW
Weight: 40 kg
Ratio: 5.7 kW/kg

Revised wing

Range: 200km
Wingspan: 10.5 m
MTOW: 950 kg
Cuise Speed: 160 km/h

Project timeline

March 2021
The aircraft rolls

The installation was successful and the final tests will now be carried out in the aircraft. A performance profile for the maiden flight has been defined, which is considered the reference for the tests. In addition, we were able to drive a small lap on the Innovation Park!

March 2021
Integration into the aircraft

After validating some new components such as the DC-DC converter and software updates, the team is ready to reintegrate the electric powertrain back into the aircraft.

January 2021
Final tests on the test bench

The overall system has been successfully tested. The aim was to improve the electromagnetic compatibility between components and to achieve tests with a power of 100kW.

September 2021
Continuation of the focus project

In the continuation of the focus project 2021, ETH students are completing the e-Sling Project Alpha and at the same time working on expanding the battery pack with a hydrogen-oxygen fuel cell in the so-called Project H2.

September 2020 – May 2021
Implentation Fokus project

For 8 months, 12 ETH mechanical and electrical engineering students implemented the ETH e-Sling focus project. This happened in cooperation with project partners, sponsors and other supporters.

The picture shows the project status as of March 10, 2021.

June 2020 – September 2020
Manufacturing of the airframe

The revised airframe was manufactured by Sling Aircraft and delivered to ETH in Switzerland via air transport. At the same time, the e-Sling team acquired project partners and sponsors and carried out further organizational project preparations.

October 2019 - May 2020
Preporatory work for project alpha

As part of the preparation, the 4-seater Sling TSi from Sling Aircraft was classified as particularly suitable. Due to the efficiency, the wingspan of the Sling TSi has been extended from 9.5 m to 10.5 m. For this, Alexander Weiser traveled to South Africa and developed the modified aircraft structure on site at Sling Aircraft. At the same time, partners for possible cooperation were already being sought and further framework conditions were being created.

November 2018 – June 2019
Basic research e-aviation

For 5 months, the two ETH mechanical engineering students Nicolai Solenthaler (3rd from right) and Alexander Weiser (2nd from right) scientifically researched electroaviatics in exchange with the German Aerospace Center (DLR) and other partners. As part of their bachelor's theses, they developed a concept for an electric aircraft with 6 seats, a new type of electric drive and a range of up to 600 km.

Project Alpha

Project Alpha
Unser projekt

Entwicklung eines 4-plätzigen Elektroflugzeugs

Während 8 Monaten entwickelten 12 ETH Maschinenbau und Elektrotechnik Studierende im Rahmen eines ETH Fokusprojektes ein 4-plätziges Elektroflugzeug mit modularem Batteriesystem, basierend auf der Sling TSi. Das Fokusprojekt startete im September 2020 und endete im Mai 2021.

maximale Leistung

110kW

Batteriekapazität

50kWh

Reichweite

200km

Reiseschwindikeit

160km/h

Energiedichte

180 Wh/kg

Unsere Ziele

Neuentwicklung eines effizienten Elektroantriebs

Neuentwicklung eines modularen Batterie-Systems

Demonstration der gesamttechnischen Lufttüchtigkeit

Batterie

Kapazität: 50 kWh
Gewicht: 240 kg
Anzahl Zellen: 2394

Motor

Leistung (max): 110 kW
Leistung (kont.): 75 kW
Gewicht: 40 kg
Verhältnis: 5.7 kW/kg

Verlängerte Flügel

Reichweite: 200 km
Spannweite: 10.5 m
MTOW: 950 kg
Reise Geschw.: 160 km/h

Projektbereiche

März 2021
Das Flugzeugt rollt

Der Einbau war erfolgreich und die finalen Tests werden ab jetzt im Flugzeug durchgeführt. Es wurde ein Leistungsprofil für den Erstflug definiert, der als Referenz für die Tests gilt. Zudem konnten wir auf dem Innovationspark eine kleine Runde fahren!

März 2021
Umbau ins Flugzeug

Nach der Validierung neuer Komponenten wie der DC-DC Wandler und Software Aktualisierungen ist das Team bereit, den elektrischen Antriebsstrang wieder ins Flugzeug einzubauen.

Januar 2021
Finale Tests im Teststand

Das Gesamtsystem wurde erfolgreich getestet. Ziel ist es gewesen die elektromagnetischen Verträglichkeit zwischen Komponenten zu verbessern und Tests be einer Leistung von 100kW zu erreichen.

September 2021
Fortsetzung des Fokusprojekts

In der Fortsetzung des Fokusprojekts 2021 vollenden ETH Studierende das e-Sling Project Alpha und arbeiten gleichzeitig an einer Erweiterung des Batteriepakets durch eine Wasserstoff-Sauerstoff-Brennstoffzelle im sogenannten Project H2.

September 2020 – Mai 2021
Umsetzung Fokusprojekt

Während 8 Monaten haben 12 ETH Maschinenbau und Elektrotechnik Studierende das ETH e-Sling Fokusprojekt umgesetzt. Dies geschah in Zusammenarbeit mit Projektpartnern, Sponsoren und weiteren Unterstützern.

Das Bild zeigt den Projektstand vom 10. März 2021.

Juni 2020 – September 2020
Herstellung Flugzeugstruktur

Die überarbeitete Flugzeugstruktur wurde von Sling Aircraft hergestellt und via Lufttransport in die Schweiz zur ETH geliefert. Parallel akquirierte das e-Sling Team Projektpartner sowie Sponsoren und tätigte weitere organisatorische Projektvorbereitungen.

Oktober 2019 - Mai 2020
Vorarbeit e-Sling Projekt Alpha

Im Rahmen der Vorbereitung wurde die 4-plätzige Sling TSi von Sling Aircraft als besonders geeignet eingeordnet. Aufgrund der Effizienz wurde die Spannweite der Sling TSi von 9.5 m auf 10.5 m verlängert. Dafür reiste Alexander Weiser nach Südafrika und entwickelte bei Sling Aircraft vor Ort die modifizierte Flugzeugstruktur. Zeitgleich wurden bereits Partner für eine mögliche Kooperation gesucht und weitere Rahmenbedingungen geschaffen.

November 2018 – Juni 2019
Grundlagenforschung e-Aviatik

Während 5 Monaten haben die zwei ETH Maschinenbau Studenten Nicolai Solenthaler (3. v.r.) und Alexander Weiser (2. v.r.) im Austausch mit dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR) und weiteren Partnern die Elektroaviatik wissenschaftlich erforscht. Im Rahmen ihrer Bachelorarbeiten entwickelten sie ein Konzept für ein Elektroflugzeug mit 6 Plätzen, einem neuartigen Elektroantrieb und einer Reichweite von bis zu 600 km.